Rad Reading- March

This month I am reading If I Had Told Her by Laura Nowlin. I have not finished this book yet but I am currently on page 155. So far this is a story about a boy and girl named Autumn and Finny. The two grew up together because their moms are best friends and they have been since they were little kids. In the first book Autumn and finny took their first steps together, their first words together, but their first day of middle school was a bit different than their other firsts. They claim to have just grown apart but deep down inside they both know it was something much more. As the book continues we get to see the ups and downs throughout their lifetime and relationships with their other piers through Finn’s, Jacks, and Autumns perspective. I love this book so far because I love how the same story is told in three different perspectives which makes it feel like three totally different stories. I love it because in one perspective they could be having the time of their lives but at the same time with the same thing that’s happening someone else they could be feeling lonely or depressed or annoyed or who knows what but I get to see how everyone else in the story feels and that really helps me get a sense of what is happening in other peoples lives and minds and not only the narrator. My favorite character so far is Finny. He is my favorite because Finny just has a special kind of love in a way that makes it feel like its you two in the world and you two only. He gives off this special feeling that is unmatchable. A character trait that describes him is loving. He is loving, because when a character is around him they can always tell that they feel safe and almost honored to be a part of his life. An example of this is what it states this in the text “ ‘Oh, Finny,’ Autumn says. Her voice has so much emotion in it that my heart flutters.” Pg. 97 This part was loving from finny because the way he felt a flutter in his heart because of the way that Autumn was admiring him was showing a sense of love and compassion towards Autumn. My favorite quote from the story is “I love you Autumn.” Pg. 87. This is my favorite quote because it is the first time that Finny is confessing his feelings to Autumn. This is a big deal because after eighteen years of a strong love towards each other the word is out and they are able to spend the rest of their lives together forever. Or so they though…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *