Rad Reading-February

This month I read If He Had Been With Me by Laura Nowlin. This story was about two kids that grew up together named Autumn, and Finny. At first their relationship seems like a close friendship with an inseparable bond between one another but as they grow up, they start to feel like their relationship has gotten too close to the point that they may be in love. It’s their first year of high school and for some reason they won’t hang out anymore. They both claim to have just grown apart but deep down inside they both know it’s more than that, they just can’t put a finger on it. Autumn has a boyfriend named Jamie and Finny has a girlfriend named Sylvie. Throughout Autumns relationship with Jamie, she loves him but it feels like it’s more of a temporary romance. She has always loved Finny and that love will stick with her always and forever. I liked this book because I got to see so many different events and situations going on all at once. I loved to be able to see the story from so many different perspectives such as Finny, Autumn, Brooke, etc! My favorite character from the story was Finny. He was favorite character because he always was there for anybody that needed him most. For example when Autumn would get picked on he would always be there for her to stand up for her but do it in a respectful way by not starting problems with his piers. My favorite quote from Finny is “ I’m sorry. Im sorry for ever hurting you.” Pg. 363. This is my favorite quote because it shows me how much Finny cares for Autumn and wants to make sure she will always be ok.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *