Painting-20% Project Week 2

For my 20% project I’m doing painting and this week I was working on all of the different methods to create a thick and textured paint. I accomplished three different types of methods that create a good thick paint for me to draw more realistic 3D flowers. One of the ways includes toilet paper, glue, and acrylic paint. I shape the toilet paper into the shape that I fancy, then glue it down to the canvas. After its glues down, I put a couple of drops of glue on the toilet paper, then spread it out going towards the edge so it will stay. This gives it that realistic flower look. My second method was using baking soda! I combined acrylic paint, and baking soda to creat a paste that’s almost like watered down clay. My third and final method was puffy paint. I paint a flower petal with normal acrylic paint then once it dries I outline it in puffy paint. My accomplishments were figuring out what works so that I know what methods work most pretty, and efficiently. I struggled on figuring out how to get the perfect shape and size with the toilet paper. I don’t need to make any adjustments to my painting techniques because so far its all working! Next week I am going to start my first painting by sketching out my entire painting and depending on how much time I have left I may get to start painting!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *