Rad Reading-December

This month I read Its not Summer Without You by Jenny Han. This book was about Belly Conklin and Jeremiah Fisher trying to bring Conrad Fisher (Jeremiahs brother) home because he has college finals and he was going to miss them. He was at the summer house but little did Belly and Jeremiah know, Conrad was trying to get the summer house back. Mr. Fisher which is Conrad and Jeremiahs dad, was trying to sell the house because he thought it was no good having it, if Susannah was gone. They all go through ups and downs together. Belly has always dreamed of marrying Conrad but who knows. She may get caught in between both of the Fisher boys and to her, make the biggest decision of her life. Will it be Conrad, or Jeremiah? I loved this book so much because the way Jenny Han used very descriptive words made me feel like I was a main character in the book. I believed that I was there in the moment, interacting with the characters and been there with them throughout the novel. My favorite character in the story was Jeremiah. He was my favorite because he always wanted there to be no tension and always so considerate. My favorite trait that describes him is optimistic! I think he was my favorite because we have similar ideas in life. We always want everything to be exciting and a fun adventure. An example of him being optimistic is when he says “Maybe part of me needed that, someone to look up to.”(pg. 168) He was very optimistic here because all he could think about was how he was always the underdog compared to his older brother Conrad. But when life gave him lemons he made lemonade! My favorite quote from the novel was from Jeremiah and he said this. “Maybe part of me needed that, someone to look up to.”(pg. 168). This was my favorite quote because it made me realize that there will always be a bright side but you just have to find it. It will always come to you eventually.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *